Leap of Faith

Earlier today on twitter, LA Reid said, “When you find what you love the money comes. If you do it for the money, trust me, you are not going be successful.” As a college student, I am constantly thinking about what kind of career will shape my future. In this sort of economy, it’s tough to find a field that I love that will also bring in enough income to survive on.

Originally, I was interested in theater and the performing arts. I loved the challenging task of storytelling. Unfortunately, the lack of money and opportunities in artistic fields has forced me to reconsider more practical fields of study, such as my second love, writing. Although I can rationalize this major because it has more opportunities, I still cant help but wonder if I’ve made the right decision. The time to register for spring semester has come, and I am faced with the decision to continue on the writing track or find a different one.

I have decided to take a leap of faith and attempt to realize my dream of becoming a writer. If I do anything during my time on earth, it will be to have fun and try to make a positive difference in people’s lives. I feel like many people are forced into their careers by circumstance, and it would be foolish not to choose one I’m passionate about. If I’ve learned anything in the past few months, it’s that the best thing I can do for myself is make decisions that I feel will make me happy, regardless of what anyone else thinks. That being said, I really hope that Mr. Reid is right.

Leave a Reply

